football Edit

Barkley named Silver Football winner

Saquon Barkley might not have been invited to this weekend's Heisman Trophy ceremony, but he isn't going home without his share of hardware following the season.

Thursday afternoon, Barkley added another to his growing list of postseason accolades, named by the Chicago Tribune as its Silver Football award winner. The award is given to the best player in the Big Ten annually.

It's the second time in as many years that Barkley has won the award, four other players - Minnesota’s Paul Giel, Ohio State’s Archie Griffin, Indiana’s Anthony Thompson and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller - who have won the award twice.

Barkley was named the Chicago Tribune Silver Football winner.

In addition to the Silver Football, Barkley has also been awarded the Paul Hornung Award, the Graham-George Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, the Ameche-Dayne Big Ten Running back of the Year, and the Rodgers-Dwight Big Ten Return Specialist of the Year.

He'll find out Thursday night whether or not he'll win any of three other national awards he's been nominated for including the Maxwell, Doak Walker and Walter Camp Player of the Year awards.