football Edit

Allen joins Barkley on Associated Press first-team Big Ten roster

Penn State's Saquon Barkley and Marcus Allen are among the first-team honorees on this week's first-team Big Ten roster, selected by the Associated Press. Four other teammates joined them on the second team.

With 314 career tackles, Allen ranks No. 25 among active FBS players in total stops.
Steve Manuel

The Associated Press selected its all-conference squads for the Big Ten this week, and Penn State has multiple representatives scattered throughout the list.

At the top is junior running back Saquon Barkley, who was selected the AP's Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. In addition to the top honor, Barkley secured two spots on the all-conference rosters. In 2017 he amassed 1,728 yards from scrimmage and scored 19 total touchdowns offense, while leading the league with an average of 28.4 yards per kickoff return and two more TDs. For that, he garnered first-team recognition for not only running back but also as an all-purpose player.

Joining Barkley on the first-team is senior safety Marcus Allen, who was second on Penn State's defense with 65 tackles and tied for a team lead with two forced fumbles. For his career, Allen has recorded 314 tackles which ranks him No. 25 among active players in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Barkley and Allen are the only two Nittany Lions to be named to the first team, but four teammates earned second-team honors.

On offense, senior WR DaeSean Hamilton, senior TE Mike Gesicki and junior QB Trace McSorley all took home second-team accolades.

Sophomore punter Blake Gillikin was named second-team punter.

AP's Complete All-Big Ten Rosters

Courtesy of the Associated Press, presented is All-Big Ten Conference football team:



WR — Simmie Cobbs, Indiana, 6-4, 220, Jr., Oak Park, Illinois.

WR—D.J. Moore, Maryland, 5-11, 215, Jr., Philadelphia.

T — Michael Deiter, Wisconsin, 6-6, 328, Jr., Curtice, Ohio.

T — Jamarco Jones, Ohio State, 6-5, 310, Sr., Chicago.

G – Michael Jordan, Ohio State, 6-7, 310, So., Canton, Michigan.

G — Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin, 6-6, 317, Jr., Grafton, Wisconsin.

C — Billy Price, Ohio State, 6-4, 312, Sr., Austintown, Ohio.

TE — Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin, 6-6, 248, Sr., Aurora, Illinois.

QB — J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, 6-2, 220, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas.

RB — Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 230, Jr., Coplay, Pennsylvania.

RB — Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin, 5-11, 214, Fr., Salem, New Jersey

PK — Griffin Oakes, Indiana, 5-10, 198, Greenwood, Indiana.

All-Purpose — Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 230, Jr., Coplay, Pennsylvania.


DE — Nick Bosa, Ohio State, 6-4, 270, So., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

DE — Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State, 6-4, 265, Sr., Tarboro, North Carolina.

DT — Maurice Hurst, Michigan, 6-2, 280, Sr., Westwood, Massachusetts.

DT — Dre'Mont Jones, Ohio State, 6-3, 295, So., Cleveland.

LB — Josey Jewell, Iowa, 6-2, 236, Sr., Decorah, Iowa.

LB — T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin, 6-1, 244, Jr., Lake Villa, Illinois.

LB — Tegray Scales, Indiana, 6-0, 230, Sr., Cincinnati.

CB — Josh Jackson, Iowa, 6-1, 192, Jr., Corinth, Texas.

CB — Nick Nelson, Wisconsin, 5-11, 208, Jr., Glenarden, Maryland.

S — Marcus Allen, Penn State, 6-2, 207, Sr., Upper Marlboro, Maryland.

S — D'Cota Dixon, Wisconsin, 5-10, 204, Jr., Oak Hill, Florida.

P — Ryan Anderson, Rutgers, 6-1, 203, Sr., DeWitt, Michigan.




WR — Stanley Morgan Jr., Nebraska, 6-1, 195, Jr., New Orleans.

WR — DaeSean Hamilton, Penn State, 6-1, 206, Sr., Fredericksburg, Virginia.

T — David Edwards, Wisconsin, So., 6-7, 315, Downers Grove, Illinois.

T — Mason Cole, Michigan, 6-5, 297, Sr., Tarpon Springs, Florida.

G — Sean Welsh, Iowa, 6-3, 295, Sr., Springboro, Ohio.

G — Ben Bredeson, Michigan, 6-5, 308, So., Hartland, Wisconsin.

C — Brian Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 302, Sr., Hinsdale, Illinois.

TE — Mike Gesicki, Penn State, 6-6, 250, Sr., Manahawkin, New Jersey.

QB — Trace McSorley, Penn State, 6-0, 195, Jr., Ashburn, Virginia.

RB — Justin Jackson, Northwestern, 5-11, 200, Sr., Carol Stream, Illinois.

RB — J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State, 5-10, 208, Fr., La Grange, Texas.

PK — Rafael Gaglianone, Wisconsin, 5-11, 232, Jr., Sao Paulo, Brazil.

All-Purpose — JD Spielman, Nebraska, 5-9, 180, Fr., Eden Prairie, Minnesota.


DE — Rashan Gary, Michigan, 6-5, 281, So., Plainfield, New Jersey.

DE — Chase Winovich, Michigan, 6-3, 253, Sr., Jefferson Hills, Pennsylvania.

DE — Conor Sheehy, Wisconsin, 6-4, 293, Sr., Milwaukee.

DT — Gelen Robinson, Purdue, 6-1, 280, Sr., Schererville, Indiana.

LB — Paddy Fisher, Northwestern, 6-4, 245, Fr., Katy, Texas.

LB — Devin Bush, Michigan, 5-11, 225, So., Pembroke Pines, Florida.

LB — Khaleke Hudson, Michigan, 6-0, 205, So., McKeesport, Pennsylvania.

LB — Garret Dooley, Wisconsin, 6-3, 246, Sr., Rochester, Illinois.

CB — Denzel Ward, Ohio State, 5-11, 191, Jr., Macedonia, Ohio.

CB — Lavert Hill, Michigan, 5-11, 177, So., Detroit.

S — Godwin Igwebuike, Northwestern, 6-0, 212, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio.

S—David Dowell, Michigan State, 6-1, 191, So., Jr., North Ridgeville, Ohio.

P — Blake Gillkin, Penn State, 6-2, 195, So., Smyrna, Georgia.


Offensive Player of the Year — Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Defensive Player of the Year — Josey Jewell, Iowa

Coach of the Year — Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

Newcomer of the Year — Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin